Where Is Taiwan Situated? Where Is Taiwan Located?

Where is Taiwan situated? Where is Taiwan located on the world map? Here is the answer and more…

Where Is Taiwan Situated?

Taiwan, officially the Republic of China, is a sovereign state of East Asia, whose territory currently extends over the island of Taiwan, as well as other neighboring islands, those of Fujian Province and the Pescadores Islands.

Taiwan was officially ruled by China from 1683 to 1895, and then ceded to Japan by the Treaty of Shimonoseki (1895), following the first Sino-Japanese War. The latter undertakes the development of Taiwan, endowing it with important infrastructures. In 1945, following the Japanese defeat at the end of the Second World War, the Republic of China recovers Taiwan. In 1949, the Kuomintang-controlled government of the Republic moved there after losing the civil war against the communists. This installation is accompanied by a massive transfer of population. From 1950, after losing Hainan, the Republic of China controls only the island of Taiwan and some other smaller island territories.

Territories claimed by the Republic of China, including Mongolia and parts of India, Russia, Tajikistan, Afghanistan.
The Republic of China occupied the seat of China at the United Nations until 1971, when the People’s Republic of China replaced it. The Republic of China and the People’s Republic of China each claim full and legitimate sovereignty over all of China (Mainland China and Taiwan). Today, the Republic of China (Taiwan) still officially claims sovereignty on the continent, even if its demands are not actively pursued, in an effort to improve diplomatic relations between the People’s Republic of China and the Republic of China. In fact, Taiwan has administrative and political independence from the continent, but its independence has never been proclaimed by either the island government or the continent. It is therefore considered by the United Nations as a province of the People’s Republic of China, and by the Government of Taiwan as a province of the Republic of China, according to the provisions of its Constitution prior to 1949.

Lee Teng-hui is the first president elected by direct universal suffrage in 1996. His successor is Chen Shui-bian (Progressive Democratic Party) who wins the presidential elections of 2000 and 2004. Ma Ying-jeou (Kuomintang) is meanwhile elected president in 2008 and re-elected in 2012.

Separatist Tsai Ing-wen wins the presidential election in January 2016 with 56% of the vote against 31% for Eric Chu, the candidate of the party so far in power, the Kuomintang (KMT). Tsai Ing-wen becomes the first woman to head the state. The Minjindang (Democratic Progressive Party) from which it emerged wins 68 of the 113 seats in Parliament, giving it a solid parliamentary majority.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *