Where Is Peru Situated? Where Is Peru Located?

Where is Peru situated? Where is Peru located? Here is the answers and map of Peru

Where Is Peru Situated? Peru Map

Peru is a country in western South America, bordered on the north by Ecuador and Colombia, on the east by Brazil and Bolivia, on the south Chile and on the west by Pacific Ocean. The total area of ​​Peru is 1,285,215 km2, making it the third country in South America after Brazil and Argentina. Lima is the capital of the country and its main economic center.

The coastal plain is a narrow strip of desert land that runs the length of the country. The many rivers that are born in the Andes and descend to the Pacific have allowed irrigation of the region, originally very arid. It is in this coastal plain that are concentrated most of the cities and the Peruvian industries.

East of the coastal plain, the sierra covers about 30% of the area of ​​Peru. It is an upland region that includes the very high mountain ranges of the Andes, high plateaus, as well as gorges and deep valleys.

On November 19, 2002, Peru adopted the Organic Law of Regional Governments. As a starting point for the devolution of a highly centralized administrative power, the law aims at defining the principles governing regional administrations and determines the competences between municipalities, regional administrations and the State. Since then, Peru has been divided into 24 regions (divided into provinces), to which must be added the province of Lima, a special status entity, distinct from the Lima region.

Map of Peru

The district is the smallest administrative division. Each district is run by a municipality, headed by a mayor. Regional governments consist of a regional presidency, a council and a co-ordinating council:

  • The Regional President (executive body of the regional government). Its functions include budgeting, the appointment of government members, the ability to govern by orders and resolutions, the execution of regional plans and programs, and the administration of regional properties and rentals. The president and vice-president are elected jointly by direct universal suffrage for four years.
  • The Regional Council (legal entity of public law) discusses and votes the laws proposed by the regional president. He may dismiss the president and any other member of the council. Their term of office is four years and the number of councilors depends on the population of the region (from 7 to 25). They are autonomous politically, economically and administratively.
  • The Regional Coordinating Council has an advisory role on budgetary and planning matters, but has no executive or legislative authority. The alcaldes of the provinces are part of this council which is responsible for representing the civil society.

Tourism in Peru began to develop in the 1990s with the stabilization of the economy and the construction of tourism infrastructure. Today, tourism is the third largest industry in the country after fishing and mining. Tourism is directed to archaeological monuments, ecotourism in the Peruvian Amazon, cultural tourism in colonial cities, gastronomic tourism, adventure tourism and balneotherapy. According to a studies by the Peruvian Government, the satisfaction rate of tourists visiting Peru is 94%. Tourism is the fastest growing economic activity in the country, increasing every year by 25% over the past five years. Tourism is growing faster than any country in South America. The countries with the highest number of tourists are the United States, Chile, Argentina, the United Kingdom, France, Germany, Brazil, Spain, Canada, and Italy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *