Where Is Lesotho Located? Lesotho Map

Where is Lesotho located? What is its Capital? Map of Lesotho

Where Is Lesotho Located? Lesotho Map

Lesotho is a southern African country, entirely landlocked in South Africa and a member of the Commonwealth.

Lesotho (short form) or the Kingdom of Lesotho (long form) is a small country with an area of 30 355 km² (equivalent of Belgium) located in Southern Africa. Lesotho became independent from the United Kingdom in 1966. The capital and the most important city of Lesotho is Maseru. His official language is Sesotho but English is still spoken. It is a poor country but a significant economic growth has been noted since 2000. Lesotho is the only country bordering South Africa where it shares 909 km of land border.

Map of Lesotho

Maseru, the capital, is the most populated city. Other important cities are Teyateyaneng, Mafeteng and Hlotse.

Lesotho is divided into 10 administrative districts, subdivided into wards, or electoral sections, presided over by hereditary chiefs and administered by district coordinators. The ten districts are: Berea, Butha-Buthe, Leribe, Mafeteng, Maseru, Mohale’s Hoek, Mokhotlong, Qacha’s Nek, Quthing, Thaba-Tseka.

The country lies in the foothills of the Drakensberg, whose landforms cover two-thirds of the country and reach altitudes above 3,000 m at the eastern border. Orange has its source in these highlands. To the west, hilly terrain occupies about one third of the country, between 1,525 and 1,830 m above sea level. They constitute the major part of Lesotho’s arable land.

The relief tempers the climate, but the thermal contrasts can be important. In the lowlands, maximum temperatures range from 32.2 ° C in summer to -6.7 ° C in winter; the average temperature is 32 ° C. Rainfall, mostly between October and April, averages about 760 mm per year in the lowlands, and 1,905 mm in altitude. Droughts are common. The dry season runs from May to September.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *